Cardiac Smarts
Cardiac Smarts Podcast
Empathy on trial
0:00
-9:24

Empathy on trial

Of empathy and the Russian special operation in Ukraine; moral denunciation

It should not surprise anyone that honest disagreement about “who started it?” and “who is the enemy?” breaks out during an emergency situation. I tend to disagree with the lead author of a philosophy forum, and on the subject of my relationship with Putin, I rarely mention him.

I stand accused of constant emotional outrage against Putin. Alas, when I package my response into a sound-file, the fellow turned off after the taunting phrase “let’s unpack the question.” I even gave the Blakify text-to-speech personality “Guy” the full shouty option, in hopes of bridging a gap. And I even gave a brief ‘awakening to Russia’ memoir.

This is the same mini-essay, an elegy for empathy, and an evocation of the power of Substack’s podcast feature. How do you think Glenn Greenwald keeps a base of subscribers here?

Okay, yah, repeat appearances with Tucker Carlson …

Discussion about this podcast

Cardiac Smarts
Cardiac Smarts Podcast
Skeptical notes on current events, by a longtime gadfly and jester of Online Objectivism. Sometimes arguments seethe, other times they can percolate, filter, ramify or spill over. Sometimes arguments don't take place when they should. Discussants, take your places!